Happy/Sad

Several times during the school year, I ask my students to complete a teacher evaluation. It’s great: I get feedback from them, they see that I care about their opinion, and they see the changes in the classroom based on their responses. On our final survey at the end of the school year, I received the following reply to the “Anything else you’d like to add?” question:

By being allowed to be part of the class not just a student in a class really helped.

At first, I was happy. It was a huge compliment. A classroom culture of community is something I strive for.

But then I felt sad.

What was going on in this student’s other classes?

So, what do you all do to help students be “part of the class” rather than “in a class?”

6 responses to “Happy/Sad

  1. I love your blog.

    I will be teaching physics this fall. Do your students want to collaborate with my students in some way? My classes will be running during the entire afternoon. Perhaps some skyping? Perhaps some similar investigations and comparing results? Perhaps something less lame than those?

    Did I mention that I love your blog?

    =shawn

  2. Frank, can you post your teacher evaluation? I have an end of the year one I could share with you as well if you are interested. I like your idea of offering the evaluation more than once.

  3. Here’s a link to my evalation: http://trampleasure.net/lee/index.php/430 (please excuse the blog’s format, I’m working on making the theme more accessible).

  4. Pingback: End of the year teacher evaluation for my physics students to complete

  5. Pingback: Grading the Teacher « Action-Reaction

  6. Shawn: Sure. We can chat more when I find out my schedule. Thanks for the blog love. I am impressed by your inquiry posts, BTW!

    Lee: My reply to you turned into an entire post — Grading the Teacher

Leave a comment